Education

Component-based Entrepreneurship Education for Freie Universität Berlin

The courses offered by Entrepreneurship Education at Freie Universität Berlin are aimed at students, academics, and alumni of all faculties. It sensitises and qualifies comprehensively to the topic of setting up a company.

Decentrally organized network

We rely on a decentralized network of lecturers from different departments. It is coordinated by Martin Gersch, Professor at the School of Business and Economics at Freie Universität Berlin. Further offers are organized by members of Profund Innovation, the Department of Biology, Chemistry, and Pharmacy, the Technology Transfer Office of the Charité, the eLearning Competence Center of the Charité, and the Dahlem Research School – the umbrella organization for structured doctoral programs at Freie Universität.

Through the involvement of experts in start-up, patent and licensing issues, current content and additional competencies are introduced into teaching. This concept builds a bridge between theory and practice, i.e. between research and teaching on the one hand and promotion and advice on the other.

Recommended Learning Paths for Bachelor, Master and Doctoral Studies

The different offers of Entrepreneurship Education can be combined to individual “learning paths” according to desire and inclination. Three recommended paths, which are tailored to Bachelor’s, Master’s and PhD students, provide a rough orientation, but are by no means mandatory. A number of courses are recognised as academic achievements; others are complementary. For example, the learning path for Bachelor students of all subjects recommends participation in the Funpreneur competition as a first step, while possible options then lead to the seminars “Case Studies in the International Learning Network” and the “BusinessplanLab” through to participation in the Berlin-Brandenburg Business Plan Competition. The recommended learning paths for master students and doctoral students are similarly structured.

Learning path: Bachelor

Curricular

Netzwerk-Forum
(Bachelor BWL)

Net Economy: Fallstudien im internationalen Lernnetzwerk
(alle Bachelor, ABV)

Businessplanlab
(alle Bachelor, ABV)

Existenzgründung in der IT-Branche
(Bachelor Informatik)

Simulierte Unternehmensgründung in der IT-Branche
(Bachelor Informatik)

Learning path: Master

Learning path: (Post)docs

Postdocs-to-Innovators Network

Freie Universität Berlin is an official partner of the Postdocs-to-Innovators Network (p2i). The p2i program sensitizes and qualifies young scientists (postdocs) from the network for alternative career paths. Participation in p2i activities takes place through a structured process and participants get in touch with other researchers, industry contacts, investors, entrepreneurs and scientists with experience in using their research in business.

P2i is a particularly innovative approach to promoting relations between universities and industry. This has the League of European Research Universities (LERU) – a report that was presented by Nature in 2018.

Digital Teaching for Digital Entrepreneurs

In recent years, numerous digital teaching/learning components have been developed at Freie Universität Berlin. These complement most “blended learning” courses in entrepreneurship education.

This post is also available in: German

Lehre

Komponentenbasierte Gründungslehre für die Freie Universität Berlin

Das Lehrangebot der Entrepreneurship Education an der Freien Universität Berlin richtet sich an Studierende, Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler sowie an Alumni sämtlicher Fachbereiche. Es sensibilisiert und qualifiziert umfassend zum Thema Unternehmensgründung.

Dezentral organisiertes Netzwerk

Dabei setzen wir auf ein dezentral organisiertes Netzwerk von Lehrenden aus verschiedenen Fachbereichen. Koordiniert wird es von Martin Gersch, Professor am Fachbereich Wirtschaftswissenschaft der Freien Universität. Weitere Angebote organisieren Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter von Profund Innovation, des Fachbereichs Biologie, Chemie, Pharmazie, der Technologietransferstelle der Charité, des Kompetenzbereichs eLearning der Charité und der Dahlem Research School – der Dachorganisation für strukturierte Doktorandenprogramme an der Freien Universität.

Durch die Einbindung von Expertinnen und Experten für Gründungs-, Patent- und Lizenzfragen werden aktuelle Inhalte und zusätzliche Kompetenzen in die Lehre eingebracht. Dieses Konzept schlägt eine Brücke zwischen Theorie und Praxis, also zwischen Forschung und Lehre auf der einen und Förderung und Beratung auf der anderen Seite.

Empfohlene Lernpfade für Bachelor, Master und Promotion

Die verschiedenen Angebote der Entrepreneurship Education lassen sich nach Wunsch und Neigung zu individuellen „Lernpfaden“ kombinieren. Drei empfohlene Pfade, die auf Bachelorstudierende, Masterstudierende und Doktoranden zugeschnitten sind, geben eine grobe Orientierung, sind aber keineswegs verpflichtend. Eine Reihe von Veranstaltungen sind als Studienleistungen anerkannt; andere sind ergänzend. So empfiehlt der Lernpfad für Bachelor-Studierende aller Fächer beispielsweise als Einstieg die Teilnahme am Funpreneur-Wettbewerb, mögliche Optionen führen dann weiter über die Seminare „Fallstudien im internationalen Lernnetzwerk“ und das „BusinessplanLab“ bis hin zur Teilnahme am Businessplan-Wettbewerb Berlin-Brandenburg. Ähnlich sind auch die empfohlenen Lernpfade für Masterstudierende und Doktoranden aufgebaut.

Lernpfad: Bachelor

Curricular

Netzwerk-Forum
(Bachelor BWL)

Net Economy: Fallstudien im internationalen Lernnetzwerk
(alle Bachelor, ABV)

Businessplanlab
(alle Bachelor, ABV)

Existenzgründung in der IT-Branche
(Bachelor Informatik)

Simulierte Unternehmensgründung in der IT-Branche
(Bachelor Informatik)

Lernpfad: Master

Lernpfad: (Post)Doktoranden

Postdocs-to-Innovators Network

Die Freie Universität Berlin ist offizieller Partner des Postdocs-to-Innovators Network (p2i). Das p2i-Programm sensibilisiert und qualifiziert NachwuchswissenschaftlerInnen (Postdocs) aus dem Netzwerk für alternative Karrierewege. Die Teilnahme an p2i-Aktivitäten erfolgt über einen strukturierten Prozess und TeilnehmerInnen erhalten Kontakt zu anderen ForscherInnen, Industriekontakten, InvestorInnen, UnternehmerInnen und WissenschaftlerInnen mit Erfahrung bei der Nutzung ihrer Forschung in der Wirtschaft.

P2i zeichnet sich als besonders innovativer Ansatz zur Förderung derBeziehungen zwischen Universitäten und Industrie aus. Dies hat die League of European Research Universities (LERU) – ein Bericht, der 2018 von Nature vorgestellt wurde.

Digitale Lehre für Digitale Entrepreneure

In den vergangenen Jahren sind zahlreiche digitale Lehr-/Lernkomponenten an der Freien Universität Berlin entstanden. Diese ergänzen die meisten “Blended Learning”-Angebote in der Gründungslehre. 

This post is also available in: Englisch